Why you need to travel on VIA Rail Canada

Before I begin, I want to preface the following posts by letting you, the reader, know that I’ve travelled extensively across America by Amtrak. I mean not to boast, but to establish my familiarity with Amtrak offerings. I keep track of my travels and they amount to 110,000 miles on Amtrak with multiple experiences in nearly every conceivable travel accommodation Amtrak offers:

-Acela First
-Acela Business
-Northeast Regional Amfleet Business
-Northeast Regional Amfleet Coach
-Chicago Corridor Business (Horizon and Amfleet I Club-Dinette)
-Chicago Corridor Coach (Horizon and Amfleet I)
-Amfleet II Coach
-Superliner Coach
-Viewliner Roomette
-Superliner Roomette
-Superliner Bedroom
-Cascades Business
-Cascades Coach
-Pacific Surfliner Business
-Capitol Corridor Coach

Knowing all that I know, and considering all the amazing experiences I’ve had traveling Amtrak, I’ve got to tell you: the best train experience you can have in North America is in Canada!

I traveled two separate train trips this fall that involved VIA Rail Canada trains. The first trip’s purpose was to ride in Amtrak’s one and only active dome car. This fall the Great Dome was assigned to the Adirondack train traveling from New York to Montreal. I was determined to take a ride on this year’s fall special. Following my first experience in Canada, I quickly planned a second trip to try VIA Rail’s long distance trains. I was excited to get a special 50% off sale for The Ocean from Montreal to Halifax.

All the employees I’ve encountered have been friendly and helpful on VIA Rail. The Business Class attendants are attentive and work really hard to make sure the car full of passengers receive all kinds of drink and food options. The two sleeping car attendants I experienced so far have been extremely pleasant and above all available. The Dining Car waiters and staff have been wonderful, taking care of all of my needs.

I’ll share some details and photos of my experiences from fall 2010 in Canada. I hope you enjoy reading about them. The trips were so incredible that I have also been inspired to travel on The Canadian from Toronto to Vancouver. I am booked on a February 2011 trip to see the Canadian shield, prairies, and Rockies in winter.

About northamericabyrail

Train traveller, Apple geek, amateur photographer, Broadway musical fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment